Daughters of the Republic of Texas

Chapter Search • Convention InformationDRT History • DRT Membership Requirements

DRT Mission Statement: The objectives of DRT are:
(1) To perpetuate the memory and spirit of the men and women who achieved and maintained the independence of Texas.

(2) To encourage historical research into the earliest records of Texas, especially those relating to the Revolution of 1835 and the events which followed; to foster the preservation of documents and relics; to encourage the publication of records of individual service of the soldiers and patriots of the Republic and other source material for the history of Texas.

(3) To promote the celebration of Texas Honor Days; to secure and memorialize historic spots by erecting markers thereon, and to cherish and preserve the unity of Texas, as achieved and established by the fathers and mothers of the Texas Revolution.

DRT Mission Motto: Texas, One and Indivisible

The Daughters of the Republic of Texas

Perpetuating the memory and spirit of the men and women who achieved and maintained the independence of Texas.
Daughters of the Republic of Texas (DRT)
DRT HQ Address/DRT Map: DRT Online
510 E. Anderson Lane
Austin, TX 78752
Twitter icon YOUTube
Telephone: (512) 339-1997 Make a donation DRT EIN: 74-1193444
DRT Date Founded: 1891
DRT Leadership: Dr. Betty J. Edwards
President General: Dr. Betty J. Edwards
DRT Website
DRT Webshot

Top of page ↑



DRT History:
During the summer of 1891, in her father’s law library, a site in Galveston, Texas, that is now known as the “Cradle,” Miss Betty Ballinger and her cousin, Miss Hally Bryan, conceived the idea of perpetuating forever the memory of the Texas pioneer families and soldiers of the Republic of Texas by forming an association of their descendants.

The two cousins then traveled to Houston, where they shared their thoughts with fourteen other ladies at the home of Mrs. Andrew Briscoe on the afternoon of November 6, 1891. At that meeting, they formed the organization that is known today as The Daughters of the Republic of Texas.

The Charter of The Daughters of the Republic of Texas was filed in the Department of State on March 9, 1895.

The Daughters of the Republic of Texas is a genealogical organization with one hundred and six chapters divided into ten districts. Each chapter is a part of the larger organization and must operate within the framework of Bylaws established by the Association.


Top of page ↑



DRT Membership Eligibility Requirements:
Membership Eligibility
Any woman having attained her sixteenth (16th) birthday is eligible for membership, provided she is personally acceptable to The DRT and is a lineal descendant of a man or woman who rendered loyal service for Texas prior to the consummation of the Annexation Agreement of the Republic of Texas with the United States of America on the nineteenth day of February, eighteen hundred forty-six (19 February 1846).

Proof submitted by an applicant shall include documentation on the applicant’s ancestor. Any date cited on the membership applications shall be documented. The applicant must furnish acceptable proof of her lineal descent from a man or woman who served in any of the following capacities:

As a colonist with Austin’s Old Three Hundred, or any colonies authorized under the Spanish or Mexican governments before the Texas Revolution or those authorized by the Congress of the Republic of Texas.

As an officer or private in the service of the Colonies or of the Republic of Texas.
As a loyal resident, male or female, regardless of age, who established residence in Texas prior to the nineteenth day of February, eighteen hundred forty-six (19 February 1846). (“Loyal” shall be interpreted to mean that he or she had not been proved disloyal. A loyal resident, regardless of age, gave the service of residing in Texas and aiding in its settlement. “Service” shall be interpreted to mean “resident” or “military.”)

As a recipient of a land grant authorized by the Provisional Government of the Republic of Texas. Those grants include “Toby Scrips;” head rights, first, second, third, and fourth class; preemption grants; land scrips; colony contracts; bounty certificates; and donation certificates.

For information about an application for membership,
click here. http://www.drtinfo.org/membership-2/how-to-become-a-member

For More Information
For information on becoming a member, please do one of the following:

contact the DRT Headquarters
http://www.drtinfo.org/contact

contact the DRT Registrar General:
registrar@drtinfo.org

contact a chapter near you:
Chapter Search

Number of Chapters: 106
Members: 7,000


Top of page ↑




DRT National Headquarters Map



Top of page ↑




Annual Meeting:

A convention is held annually. The convention dates have varied through the years: April 21, March 2, March 18, February 18 and 19, also May 14. It was on May 14,1836 that Interim President David C. Burnet and Santa Anna signed the Treaties of Velasco, following the defeat of the Mexican forces at San Jacinto. Since 1936 The Daughters’ tradition has been to choose a date as close as possible to the Velasco Honor Day for their Annual Convention.


Top of page ↑



Texas

  • DRT Chapter Blanco County Pioneers Chapter: Blanco County Pioneers District: 5 City: Johnson City Website: E-mail: blancocountypioneers@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter David Crockett Chapter: David Crockett District: 4 City: Crockett Website: E-mail: davidcrockett@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Bluebonnet Branch Chapter: Bluebonnet Branch District: 6 City: Friendswood Website: E-mail: bluebonnetbranch@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Bosque River Chapter: Bosque River District: 2 City: Stephenville Website: E-mail: bosqueriver@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Aaron Estes Chapter: Aaron Estes District: 1 City: Midland Website: E-mail: aaronestes@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Catherine Overton Chapter: Catherine Overton District: 8 City: Manor Website: E-mail: catherineoverton@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Abishai Mercer Dickson Chapter: Abishai Mercer Dickson District: 8 City: Seguin Website: E-mail: abishaimercerdickson@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Cedar Mountains Chapter: Cedar Mountains District: 2 City: Duncanville Website: E-mail: cedarmountains@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Alamo Couriers Chapter: Alamo Couriers District: 7 City: San Antonio Website: E-mail: alamocouriers@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Charles S. Taylor Chapter: Charles S. Taylor District: 3 City: Dallas Website: E-mail: charlesstaylor@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Alamo Heroes Chapter: Alamo Heroes District: 7 City: San Antonio Website: E-mail: alamoheroes@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Clara Driscoll Chapter: Clara Driscoll District: 7 City: Corpus Christi Website: E-mail: claradriscoll@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Alsatian Pioneers Chapter: Alsatian Pioneers District: 7 City: Castroville Website: E-mail: alsatianpioneers@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Collin McKinney Chapter: Collin McKinney District: 3 City: Plano Website: E-mail: collinmckinney@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Anson Jones Chapter: Anson Jones District: 3 City: Mount Pleasant Website: E-mail: ansonjones@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Comanche Peak Chapter: Comanche Peak District: 2 City: Granbury Website: E-mail: comanchepeak@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Baron de Bastrop Chapter: Baron de Bastrop District: 8 City: Bastrop Website: E-mail: barondebastrop@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Cornelius Smith Chapter: Cornelius Smith District: 8 City: Luling Website: E-mail: corneliussmith@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Ben Milam Chapter: Ben Milam District: 5 City: Temple Website: E-mail: benmilam@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Cradle of Texas Chapter: Cradle of Texas District: 9 City: Freeport Website: E-mail: cradleoftexas@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Fort Settlement Chapter: Fort Settlement District: 9 City: Sugar Land Website: E-mail: fortsettlement@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Dilue Rose Harris Chapter: Dilue Rose Harris District: 8 City: Columbus Website: E-mail: dilueroseharris@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Franklin Hardin Chapter: Franklin Hardin District: 9 City: Liberty Website: E-mail: franklinhardin@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Dr. Wilhelm Keidel Chapter: Dr. Wilhelm Keidel District: 8 City: Fredericksburg Website: E-mail: drwilhelmkeidel@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Frontier Chapter: Frontier District: 1 City: Abilene Website: E-mail: frontier@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter El Paso Rio Grande Chapter: El Paso Rio Grande District: 1 City: El Paso Website: E-mail: elpasoriogrande@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter General James Smith Chapter: General James Smith District: 10 City: Lubbock Website: E-mail: generaljamessmith@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Elizabeth Zumwalt Kent Chapter: Elizabeth Zumwalt Kent District: 8 City: Smiley Website: E-mail: elizabethzumwaltkent@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter George Washington Stell Chapter: George Washington Stell District: 3 City: Paris Website: E-mail: georgewashingtonstell@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Ezekiel Cullen Chapter: Ezekiel Cullen District: 4 City: San Augustine Website: E-mail: ezekielcullen@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Gonzales Chapter: Gonzales District: 8 City: Gonzales Website: E-mail: gonzales@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Ferdinand Lindheimer Chapter: Ferdinand Lindheimer District: 8 City: New Braunfels Website: E-mail: ferdinandlinheimer@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Halfway Inn Chapter: Halfway Inn District: 4 City: Chireno Website: E-mail: halfwayinn@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Fort Boggy Chapter: Fort Boggy District: 5 City: Marquez Website: E-mail: fortboggy@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Hally Bryan Perry Chapter: Hally Bryan Perry District: 1 City: Alpine Website: E-mail: hallybryanperry@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Fort Brown Chapter: Fort Brown District: 7 City: Brownsville Website: E-mail: fortbrown@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Hill Country Chapter: Hill Country District: 2 City: Dublin Website: E-mail: hillcountry@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Fort Concho Chapter: Fort Concho District: 1 City: San Angelo Website: E-mail: fortconcho@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Brenham Chapter: Brenham District: 6 City: Brenham Website: http://brenhamdrt.com/ E-mail: drrichardfoxbrenham@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Fort Houston Chapter: Fort Houston District: 4 City: Palestine Website: E-mail: forthouston@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Georgetown Chapter: Georgetown District: 5 City: Georgetown Website: http://drtgeorgetown.org/ E-mail: johnberry@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Dallas Chapter: Dallas District: 3 City: Dallas Website: http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~txjbbdrt/ E-mail: jamesbutlerbonham@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Mesquite Chapter: Mesquite District: 3 City: Mesquite Website: http://hbennettdrt.weebly.com/ E-mail: hirambennett@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Madisonville Chapter: Madisonville District: 5 City: Madisonville Website: http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~txrvhdrt/ E-mail: revjohnhaynie@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Houston Chapter: Houston District: 6 City: Houston Website: http://www.sanjacintodrt.org/ E-mail: sanjacinto@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter San Saba Chapter: San Saba District: 5 City: San Saba Website: http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~txssrdrt/ E-mail: sansabariver@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter San Antonio Chapter: San Antonio District: 7 City: San Antonio Website: http://www.alamomissionchapterdrt.org/ E-mail: alamomission@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Arlington Chapter: Arlington District: 2 City: Arlington Website: http://www.rootsweb.com/~txccmdrt/drt.htm E-mail: charlescalvinmccoy@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Fort Worth Chapter: Fort Worth District: 2 City: Fort Worth Website: http://www.drtinfo.org/chapters/fcvz/ E-mail: francescookevanzandt@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Grand Prairie Chapter: Grand Prairie District: 2 City: Grand Prairie Website: http://www.rootsweb.com/~txctdrt/index.htm E-mail: crosstimbers@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Euless Chapter: Euless District: 2 City: Euless Website: http://www.drtinfo.org/chapters/isaaclow/ E-mail: isaaclow@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter San Marcos Chapter: San Marcos District: 8 City: San Marcos Website: http://www.sanmarcosdrt.org/ E-mail: moonmcgehee@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Lockhart Chapter: Lockhart District: 8 City: Lockhart Website: http://www.jamesgeorgedrt.vpweb.com/ E-mail: jamesgeorge@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Burnet Co. Chapter: Burnet Co. District: 5 City: Burnet Co. Website: http://www.janewellswoodsdrt.org/ E-mail: janewellswoods@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Longview Chapter: Longview District: 4 City: Longview Website: http://www.jtedrt.org/ E-mail: johntilleyedwards@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Lufkin Chapter: Lufkin District: 4 City: Lufkin Website: http://www.maryhallmantoothdrt.org/ E-mail: maryhallmantooth@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Mabank Chapter: Mabank District: 4 City: Mabank Website: http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~txhcadrt/ E-mail: jamespinckneyhenderson@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter New Kentucky Chapter: New Kentucky District: 6 City: Spring-Tomball Website: E-mail: newkentucky@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter James W. Brown Chapter: James W. Brown District: 9 City: Pasadena Website: E-mail: jameswbrown@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Oran Milo Roberts Chapter: Oran Milo Roberts District: 5 City: Lampasas Website: E-mail: oranmiloroberts@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter John Bevil Chapter: John Bevil District: 4 City: Jasper Website: E-mail: johnbevil@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Palo Duro Chapter: Palo Duro District: 10 City: Amarillo Website: E-mail: paloduro@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter John Floyd Gilbert Chapter: John Floyd Gilbert District: 4 City: Livingston Website: E-mail: johnfloydgilbert@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Peter James Bailey Chapter: Peter James Bailey District: 3 City: Irving Website: E-mail: peterjamesbailey@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Jose Antonio Navarro Chapter: Jose Antonio Navarro District: 5 City: Corsicana Website: E-mail: joseantonionavarro@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Peters Colony Chapter: Peters Colony District: 3 City: Denton Website: E-mail: peterscolony@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Joshua D. Brown Chapter: Joshua D. Brown District: 8 City: Kerrville Website: E-mail: joshuadbrown@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Judge Nathaniel H. Davis Chapter: Judge Nathaniel H. Davis District: 6 City: Montgomery Website: E-mail: judgenathanielhdavis@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Austin Chapter: Austin District: 8 City: Austin Website: https://www.facebook.com/groups/877957572271535/ E-mail: williambarrettravis@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Llano Pioneers Chapter: Llano Pioneers District: 8 City: Llano Website: E-mail: llanopioneers@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Brady Chapter: Brady District: 8 City: Brady Website: https://www.facebook.com/DRTHeartOfTexasChapter/ E-mail: heartoftexas@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Martin Wells Chapter: Martin Wells District: 8 City: Round Rock Website: E-mail: martinwells@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Breckenridge Chapter: Breckenridge District: 2 City: Breckenridge Website: https://www.facebook.com/groups/135038713358134/ E-mail: picketville@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Mary Ann Lawhon Chapter: Mary Ann Lawhon District: 3 City: Dallas Website: E-mail: maryannlawhon@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter James Bowie Chapter: James Bowie District: 3 City: Texarkana Website: E-mail: jamesbowie@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Monument Hill Chapter: Monument Hill District: 8 City: La Grange Website: E-mail: monumenthill@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter James Frederick Gomer Chapter: James Frederick Gomer District: 4 City: Hemphill Website: E-mail: jamesfederickgomer@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Sam Houston Chapter: Sam Houston District: 5 City: Belton Website: E-mail: samhouston@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter William Carroll Crawford Chapter: William Carroll Crawford District: 4 City: Center Website: E-mail: williamcarrollcrawford@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Seth Hurin Bates Chapter: Seth Hurin Bates District: 6 City: Kingwood Website: E-mail: sethhurinbates@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Zuber-Hadley Chapter: Zuber-Hadley District: 5 City: Navasota Website: E-mail: zuberhadley@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Sidney Sherman Chapter: Sidney Sherman District: 9 City: Galveston Website: E-mail: sidneysherman@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Stenson-Simpson Chapter: Stenson-Simpson District: 7 City: Rockport Website: E-mail: stensonsimpson@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Stone Fort Chapter: Stone Fort District: 4 City: Nacogdoches Website: E-mail: stonefort@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter President Houston Chapter: President Houston District: 6 City: Huntsville Website: E-mail: presidenthouston@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Tejas Chapter: Tejas District: 9 City: Beaumont Website: E-mail: tejas@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Presidents of Texas Chapter: Presidents of Texas District: 10 City: Odessa Website: E-mail: presidentsoftexas@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Texana Chapter: Texana District: 7 City: Edna Website: E-mail: texana@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Presidio La Bahia Chapter: Presidio La Bahia District: 7 City: Goliad Website: E-mail: presidiolabahia@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Thomas William Ward Chapter: Thomas William Ward District: 10 City: Monahans Website: E-mail: thomaswilliamward@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Reuben Hornsby Chapter: Reuben Hornsby District: 8 City: Austin Website: E-mail: reubenhornsby@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Villa de San Agustin de Laredo Chapter: Villa de San Agustin de Laredo District: 7 City: Laredo Website: E-mail: villadesanagustindelaredo@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Rio Medio Chapter: Rio Medio District: 7 City: Beeville Website: E-mail: riomedio@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Village of Salado Chapter: Village of Salado District: 5 City: Salado Website: E-mail: villageofsalado@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Robert Henry Chapter: Robert Henry District: 5 City: Bryan Website: E-mail: roberthenry@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Welcome W. Chandler Chapter: Welcome W. Chandler District: 2 City: Brownwood Website: E-mail: welcomewchandler@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Tyler Chapter: Tyler District: 5 City: Tyler Website: http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~txscrdrt/DRT-Waco-index.html E-mail: sterlingcrobertson@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Caddel-Smith Chapter: Caddel-Smith District: 7 City: Uvalde Website: E-mail: caddelsmith@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Elisabet Ney Chapter: Elisabet Ney District: 10 City: Washington, DC Website: E-mail: elisabetney@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter Rebecca Jane Fisher Chapter: Rebecca Jane Fisher District: 2 City: Wichita Falls Website: E-mail: rebeccajanefisher@drtinfo.org
  • DRT Chapter James Taylor White I Chapter: James Taylor White I District: 9 City: Winnie-Stowell Website: E-mail: jamestaylorwhite1@drtinfo.org


Top of page ↑